Gallery visit – Roland Collins

I first saw Roland Collins work at the Towner Art Gallery, Eastbourne recently. He was exhibiting alongside other artists in the ‘A point of departure’ exhibition. I liked his work and chose to travel into Kent to view an individual exhibition of his work. Included in this exhibition were three drawings in ink that really caught my eye. I like the simple, graphical look of the works. They are detailed drawings but to me are not too complicated and fussy, hence the use of the term simple. The drawings were approximately A3 size, so I was able to examine the techniques he used closely. I have made notes in my sketchbook of certain techniques, which has given me ideas for the future. I like seeing what can be achieved with a pen and the drawings seemed to fit with what I am studying at the moment, namely, detailed drawing using line.

Battersea Church, Roland Collins, 1938, ink on paper

Little Venice, Roland Collins, 1939, ink on paper

Riverside, Chiswick, Roland Collins, 1936, ink on paper



Leave a comment