Experimental drawing – chapter 2 – my sketchbook gesture experiments

Robert Kaupelis describes the process of gesture drawings as attempting ‘to perceive the form in its entirety and to record the essence of the particular gesture in a matter of seconds’. I tried to experiment by drawing my son painting and also some athletes on the television. These drawings were all done in charcoal as suggested.

I enjoyed this exercise. I am not sure if I am doing the process of gesture drawing correctly but I enjoyed experimenting. I have not tried to draw things at such speed before and it is a challenge to capture a movement. I found particularly in the case of the athletes running and throwing were a real challenge and I had to rely on my memory in some cases. The last drawing was done a little slower as I paused the TV but I still drew quickly to keep the sense of movement. I like the freeness and expressiveness of this type of drawing.

Alisdair painting drawn in charcoal.

Alisdair painting, drawn in charcoal

Athlete thrown javelin – drawn in charcoal

Running on the track – drawn in charcoal



Leave a comment